Why do bulldogs snore?

Bulldogs and other brachycephalic breeds snore because of the shortness of their muzzle. When the soft palate is too long for their short muzzle it creates excess tissue at the base of the tongue. This narrows the area through which they breathe, sometimes partially closing it which creates snoring.