Why is a lemon called a lemon?

The word lemon has its origins from the Arabic or Persian word 'laimun.' Lemon plants are thought to have been brought to Western civilization from India or Indonesia many centuries ago. Using the word lemon to describe a 'useless or damaged thing' started in the early 1900s.