What makes a vegetable a vegetable?

A fruit is a seed-bearing structure that develops from the ovary of a flowering plant, whereas vegetables are all other plant parts, such as roots, leaves and stems. In culinary terms, however, a lot of foods that are (botanically speaking) fruits, but which are savory are considered vegetables.