What is the abbreviation i. e.?

According to wikipedia.org: Improv Everywhere (often abbreviated IE) is a comedic performance art group based in New York City, formed in 2001 by Charlie Todd. I.E. is an abbreviation for the Latin “ id est” meaning “that is .