What bird is pidgeot based on?

Pidgeot is an avian Pokémon, named after the pidgeon, with large wings, sharp talons, and a short, hooked beak. It's powerful wings are capable of stirring up windstorms, and it may spread its wings to intimidate enemies. This Pokémon is capable of flying faster than the speed of sound.