How long does it take for a black widow spider bite to kill you?

Black widow spider bites rarely kill people, but it's important to get medical attention as soon as possible. Symptoms appear about 30 minutes after a bite and include painful swelling around the bite, cramps, muscle spasms, achiness, and you may be sick to your stomach.

---

In some instances the time has been over 12 hours, but it all depends on how much venom was injected, what is the health of the person bitten, are they very young or old, are they sick, etc., all those can play into whether or not the sting can be lethal.