What is the purpose of miss brill?

"Miss Brill" is an often-studied short story by Katherine Mansfield, published in 1920. The character is an ordinary, but solitary middle-aged woman who spends her days teaching English to children, and reading to an old man. It's a study in loneliness, aging, and alienation.