What's the second largest state in the union?

If you are referring to area, Alaska is the biggest state at 663,300sq mi and Texas comes in second at 268,597sq mi. But if by "largest" you are referring to population, then California wins at 37.68 million people and Texas, again at #2, has 27.7 million people.

---

Texas is the second largest state in the union.