Was john wayne bald?

John Wayne's hair had begun thinning in the 1940s, and by the end of the decade he chose to start wearing a hairpiece. After he made "Wake of the Red Witch" in 1948, John Wayne wore a toupee for every film, except for the later scenes of "The Wings of Eagles" in 1957.