Why are there riots in hong kong?

Protests have gripped Hong Kong since June 2019, due to highly controversial legislation to extradite those convicted of crimes to China and Taiwan. Clashes in the months since have seen police fire rubber bullets, tear gas, and pepper spray at protesters in repeated bids to break up demonstrations.