Is it ok to store onions and potatoes together?

Storing potatoes and onions together isn't the best idea. Onions produce a high level of ethylene gas, which will cause potatoes to ripen and go bad before you're ready to use them. Also, potatoes' high moisture content can cause onions to liquefy and leak.