What is tornado season?

Tornadoes can occur any time of year, but peak season when most appear in the U.S. is in early spring near the Gulf Coast, from May to June in Texas Oklahoma and Kansas, and from June to July in Nebraska Iowa Minnesota North and South Dakota.