What are the phoenician wars?

The Punic Wars were a series of wars (taking place between 264 and 146 BCE) that were fought between the Roman Republic and Ancient Carthage. The conflict lasted for 23 years and caused substantial materiel and human losses on both sides; the Carthaginians were ultimately defeated by the Romans.