When was a. one steak sauce made?

A. 1. Steak Sauce was created sometime before 1831 by Henderson William Brand, who was a cook for King George IV. He may have first made or come across the sauce while in the King's employ, but it's highly doubtful that the King tasted it and pronounced it “A1”, as he is reputed to have said.