Did james monroe fight in the revolutionary war?

Yes, James Monroe served as an officer in the Continental Army, ultimately achieving the rank of Colonel. Most notably, he fought in the battle of Trenton where he was seriously wounded.

---

James Monroe became an officer in the Continental Army and joined General George Washington's army in New York. During the Revolution, Monroe fought with distinction in several important battles, including Trenton, Monmouth, Brandywine, and Germantown.