Why are stingrays called stingrays?

They have a little barbed arrow in their tails that they can flock, like a scorpion, to sting you. It is barbed like a bee's stinger so it will penetrate and hold its place in the target. They can be dangerous and Steve Irwin, Croc, hunter was killed by one.