What is an oblisk?

The word obelisk generally refers to a stone pillar, typically having a square or rectangular cross section and a tapered shape that narrows toward the top, ending in a pyramid like tip. Obelisks are set up as monuments or landmarks. The Washington Monument is an example of an obelisk.