Is salt a rock?

It is a mineral. salt in its natural form as a crystalline mineral is known as rock salt or halite

---

Salt is a mineral. It’s main component is sodium chloride. Salt is found in many places in the world, particularly the ocean. Why ya gotta be so salty?