What's the difference between a hot tub and a spa?

The primary difference between them is their actual use and location. Whereas a hot tub can have spa like qualities, a spa is often a standalone establishment or in-ground structure that also provides health treatments. A hot tub is portable and has its own plumbing and electrical control systems.