Who was the very first american idol?

Kelly Brianne Clarkson is an American singer, songwriter and television personality. She rose to fame in 2002, after winning the first season of American Idol, which earned her a record deal with RCA Records

---

The very first American Idol was Kelly Clarkson in 2002.