Where does squirrels sleep?

Squirrels sleep in nests or dens that they create or find in trees. Ground squirrels stay on the ground. They are burrowing animals that dig holes in the ground to stay warm. Depending on the species of ground squirrel, they may even hibernate in their homes throughout the winter.