What is an eight point hat?

An eight-point hat, commonly known as the utility cap, is the combat utility uniform hat worn by the United States Marine Corps. It's an eight-pointed hat with a visor that looks like a baseball cap. It is worn "blocked," that is, wrinkled and peaked, creating a more defined look.