Where was the star spangled banner written?

The Star Spangled Banner was written in Baltimore by Francis Scott Key after witnessing the bombardment of Fort McHenry by British ships of the Royal Navy in Baltimore Harbor during the Battle of Baltimore in the War of 1812.

---

The lyrics come from the Defence of Fort M'Henry, a poem written on September 14, 1814, by the then 35-year-old lawyer and amateur poet Francis Scott Key after witnessing the bombardment of Fort McHenry by British ships in Baltimore Harbor during the Battle of Baltimore in the War of 1812.

---

Francis Scott Key wrote the song after witnessing the bombardment of Fort McHenry by British ships of the Royal Navy in Baltimore Harbor during the Battle of Baltimore in the War of 1812. So, Baltimore, MD is the location.

---

Francis Scott Key started writing the Star Spangle Banner while captive aboard a British naval ship after witnessing the bombardment of Fort McHenry. After being released, he later completed the poem at the Indian Queen Hotel, located in Philadelphia.