What's the difference between french vanilla ice cream and regular vanilla ice cream?

Regular ice cream is a combination of heavy cream, milk, sugar, and vanilla. French vanilla ice cream contains egg yolks, giving it a yellowish appearance with a more caramelized, custard-like flavor.