Why does november have two birthstones?

Traditionally each month is associated with one birthstone but you will find some months have multiple birthstones. This fact does create some confusion but the multiple options for some months was created in order to allow more affordable options in addition to the traditional more expensive stones

---

Topaz was the original birthstone, but Citrine was later added as a more affordable option for jewelers to sell. Both November birthstones are known to have calming energies while bringing fortune and warmth to the wearer.