What's a fascia board?

Fascia boards cap the edge of rafters outside your home and hold the gutters in place. The fascia is usually used with a soffit or an “eave”, which is found between the board and the rafter. It has no specific use, but it gives a clean look to your house and covers unattractive rafters.