What's the difference between mice and rats?

Mice are smaller rodents than rats. Mice have large ears, small feet, and small, slender hair covered tails in relationship to their body size. Rats have relatively small ears, large feet, and a thick hairless tail.

---

Mice and rats are completely different animals though both in the rodent family. Rats are larger. City rats or Norwegian rats have small ears and can become quite large. Native rats looks much like mice though much larger. Country rats and field mice tend to be more brown in color.