Is chili a country?

Chile, spelled see, aitch, eye, ell, ee, is a country on the southwest coast of South America. Its capital is Santiago. It has a population of about 17 and a half million. It is about 2670 miles north to south, but only 217 miles east to west at its widest point for a total of about 292260 sq miles