Who were the round heads?

Roundheads, derisive name for the supporters of Parliament during the English civil war. The name originated c. 1641, referred to the short haircuts worn by the Puritans in contrast to the fashionable long-haired wigs worn by many of the supporters of King Charles I, who were called Cavaliers.