Why are minions called minions?

Because if they were called bunions people wouldn't like them as much?

---

The word minion comes from the Middle French word 'mignon' meaning 'darling, favourite'. It first appeared in English during the 1500s and was used to mean 'a low dependent' or 'a person who pleases instead of benefits'.