What are the planets made out of?

The planets in our solar system are each made out of different things. The inner planets (Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars) are relatively small rocky planets made up mostly of silicate minerals and iron and nickel metal. Most of the earth is made up of only three elements: iron, silicon, and oxygen.