What kind of weapon is a seeker?

The seeker, generally referencing the sensor on the head of a missile, contains the equipment that senses some aspect of the target object. It is not the weapon, but rather the sensor that guides the weapon. It may be active, transmitting/receiving its own signal (radar/lidar), or passive (heat).