Why is it called scotch tape?

The brand name Scotch came about while Richard Drew was testing his first masking tape to determine how much adhesive he needed to add. The brand so embraced the notion of being cheapskates that until 1944 their mascot was Scotty McTape, a kilted boy with an enthusiasm for tape.