Is a rib eye roast a prime rib?

Sometimes. Prime rib is a roasted beef rib roast. Usually prime rib is not boneless and is roasted with the bones. A bone-in rib roast is also known as a standing rib roast. However, for ease and consistency in slicing, some chefs will use rib eye roast and serve it as prime rib.

---

The ribeye cut comes from the exact same rib area of the animal. The cut is from the rib roast, aka prime rib. To be considered a ribeye, the steak must be cut before the roast is cooked. Cost Ribeyes can be bone-in or boneless, with boneless cuts generally being more expensive per pound.