What is an i. e.?

I.e. stands for the Latin id est, or 'that is,' and is used to introduce a word or phrase that restates what has been said previously.

---

I. e. stands for the Latin id est, or 'that is,' and is used to introduce a word or phrase that restates what has been said previously.