How many words are in the english vocabulary?

No one can give an exact count of the number of words in English and one reason is because languages are ever expanding. It is estimated that there are over 1 million total words used today.

---

There is no exact count of the number of words in the English vocabulary, because the language is ever expanding. It has been estimated that the English vocabulary consists of roughly 1 million words, including all scientific terms. Regular English dictionaries include roughly half a million words.