What's the world record for the longest time holding your breath?

As of 1 January 2020, according to both the Guiness Book of Records and the International Association for the Development of Apnea, the longest breath hold without oxygen assistance was for 11 minutes and 35 seconds by Stéphane Mifsud in 2009.

---

In 2012, German freediver Tom Sietas held his breath underwater for 22 minutes and 22 seconds, besting Dane Stig Severinsen's previous Guinness record by 22 seconds. (Guinness still lists Severinsen as the record holder, as he hyperventilated with oxygen before his attempt).