How do you get the yolk of an egg?

To separate the yolk of the egg from the white, crack the egg over a bowl. You can either pour it out into your hand and strain it through your fingers to separate the yolk, or just pour it from one half of the shell to the other until all the white is in the bowl and the yolk is left in the shell.