What does s. and p. five hundred stand for?

The S&P 500 is an index of 500 large-company stocks. The Standard rating service merged with the Poor's service in 1941 creating Standard and Poor's. This is one of the keys to US economic performance. The Dow Jones Industrial Average and NASDAQ are also frequently cited.