What's the difference between a shark and a dolphin?

Sharks are fish, meaning they have gills, breathe underwater and are cold-blooded. Dolphins are mammals, meaning they breathe air, are warm-blooded, and nurse their offspring. Dolphins are very social animals and travel, live, and hunt in pods. sharks are not very social and are typically alone.