Why do cats like cucumbers?

Most cats don't like cucumber. Instead they might be afraid of it. it’s ultimately more about the element of surprise than the type or shape of the fruit. Your cat might react in the same way to an apple or a bunch of grapes. However, cats do like Nepeta Cataria, commonly known as catnip.