What is a truffle tree?

Truffles form on tree roots of specific tree types. The best known and most expensive truffles grow symbiotically with Oak truffle trees, specifically English Oak, White Oak and French Oak trees. Other types of trees, specifically Beech, Fir, Poplar, Birch and Hazelnut, can grow truffles.