Who invented potato pancakes?

Although many associate potato pancakes with Hanukkah, their origins are more broad. They originated in eastern European countries of Germany, Austria, Russia and Poland as a peasant food. Potatoes were cheap, plentiful and easy to store, making them a staple, necessitating inventive potato recipes.