Is the sun living or not living?

As science defines it, to be living, a thing must be capable of growth, reproduction and metabolism. Sun is neither capable of reproducing nor able to extract energy from chemicals in order to sustain itself. Using this definition, you should be able to say that Sun is a non-living.