Why is it called jasmine rice?

A jasmine is a sweet-smelling flower. Jasmine rice is also known as Thai fragrant rice, given its pleasant popcorn-like smell. This is due to the presence of a molecule called 2-acetyl-1-pyrroline ( 17 , 19 ). In comparison, most types of white rice lack a distinct smell.