How to explain autumn to preschoolers?

The best way is to think about it's alternative name, fall. It's where the leaves on the trees start to change color, soon to fall off in preparation for winter. It's the transition from summer to winter. Though the term 'autumn' is more formal, 'fall' is likely more recognizable to a preschooler.