How did the reuben sandwich get its name?

Reuben Kulakofsky or refered to as Reuben Kay was playing poker with a few men including Charles Schimmel. They all chipped in every pot for a midnight sandwich break. One night Reuben asked Bernard Schimmel who was a European trained chef for the hotel, for a Corned beef, Sauerkraut sandwich