What is the police phonetic alphabet?

The APCO phonetic alphabet, a.k.a. LAPD radio alphabet, is the term for an old competing spelling alphabet to the ICAO radiotelephony alphabet, defined by the Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials-International[1] from 1941 to 1974 used by Los Angeles Police Department.