How do you know if a ladybug is a girl?

Ladybug can be distinguished from males by the shape of the distal margin of the seventh abdominal sternite; in females, the distal margin is convex. Additionally, females display dark pigmentation of their labrums and prosternums. Female ladybugs do not mate during their overwinter phase.