What is the earth's core?

Earth's core is a huge, hot, dense ball, mostly of iron. It's temperature is about 5200ºC and it is under tremendous pressure; about 3.6 million atmospheres. Although the temperature is above iron's melting point, the extreme pressure keeps the iron in solid form.